Mayor sofa by Arne Jacobsen & Flemming Lassen – &tradition

In record time &tradition has launched a wide range of designs, both new and reissues. Less than 6 months ago &tradition brought the MAYOR sofa into the limelight again, a sofa originally created by architects Arne Jacobsen and Flemming Lassen. Now the sofa has received one of the most significant and important international accredited awards. Last week &tradition received the award for “Best Reissue” in the prestigious Wallpaper* Design Award 2013.

Inspired by the international modernism the MAYOR sofa was designed for Søllerød Town Hall, built 1939-1942. As part of the process architects Arne Jacobsen and Flemming Lassen were responsible for the entire town hall aesthetic appearance, from furniture designs down to small details such as the door handles.

Arne Jacobsen is a name in Danish design history most people know. Fewer are aware of the fantastic cooperation established between Arne Jacobsen and Flemming Lassen. The two architects created many award-winning designs together, and Flemming Lassen is in many ways just as interesting as Arne Jacobsen.

Flemming Lassen (1902 – 1984) was a Danish functionalist architect and brother of architect Mogens Lassen, who created the world famous Kubus candlestick. Flemming Lassen and Arne Jacobsen knew each other from their time in boarding school. Jacobsen can also thank his school friend for his success, because without Lassen’s suggestion to become an architect, Jacobsen had probably remained a painter. Together they created, in addition to Søllerød Town Hall, numerous of other award-winning projects.

&tradition are very proud of the acclamation and has already since the Wallpaper* Design Award seen the interest grow. Recently at the Maison&Objet design fair in Paris, where the interest for MAYOR sofa certainly was tangible. The sofa can soon be seen in a number of design shops worldwide and &tradition looks forward to an exciting 2013