BELT for Modus by Claesson Koivisto Rune

BELT for Modus by CKR

BELT for Modus

The distinguishing feature of the Belt stool is, of course, the belt-like handle strap which runs up the side and across the top of the seat.

The strap provides an integrated handle, fitted flush with the fabric cover, which can be easily gripped when the need to move the stool arises.

We have taken particular care to design a pleasing shape for the stool, which we wanted to have a soft character with a gentle taper towards the base. Naturally, the Belt stool is circular in plan, making it omni-directional.

The thick, saddle leather used for the strap forms a crisp, graphic accent to the design and can be specified in several colours that can be used to contrast or complement to fabric seat cover.”

Claesson Koivisto Rune, May 2018

Claesson Koivisto Rune

Claesson Koivisto Rune is a Swedish architectural partnership, founded in Stockholm, in 1995, by Mårten Claesson, Eero Koivisto and Ola Rune. Beginning as an architectural firm, it has since become an internationally acclaimed, multi-disciplinary office with an equal emphasis on both architecture and design.

As the first Swedish office to have exhibited in the international section at the Venice Architecture Biennale, in 2004, they are also responsible for a wide range of award-winning projects such as Villa Terminus, Zander K and Bergen Børs hotels in Bergen, Norway, Inde/Jacobs gallery building in Marfa, Texas, Sfera Building culture house in Kyoto, the Tind Prefab house collection for Fiskarhedenvillan, Widlund House private villa on Öland, Örsta Gallery building in Kumla, Nobis Hotel and Hotel Skeppsholmen in Stockholm.

They design for such international companies as Arflex, Artifort, Asplund, Boffi, Capdell, Cappellini, David design, Dux, Fontana Arte, Kasthall, Living Divani, Modus, Muuto, Nikari, Offecct, Paola Lenti, Smaller Objects, Tacchini, Wästberg, among others.

Claesson Koivisto Rune has received an array of international awards and recognitions, amongst them ten American Good Design Awards 2009 – 18, the Designpreis Deutschland (Gold and Silver) 2011 by the Federal Republic of Germany, Designer of the Year 2011 and Furniture of the Year 2012 by Elle Deco Sweden, both Designer of the Year and Best Seating 2014 by Elle Decor Italia, and the Red Dot Design Award – Best of the Best 2014, making them the first office to hold the prestigious Red Dot in five different product categories, architecture included. In 2015, they also received the prestigious Bruno Mathsson award, the highest honour in furniture design in Sweden and the Scandinavian region.