Annual International Design Competition The Architect’s Chair

The Architect’s Chair Competition, a groundbreaking contest in custom furniture design, invites architects and designers from around the world to create their own signature chair, showcasing their creativity and versatility. Drawing inspiration from iconic architects like Charles and Ray Eames, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Marcel Breuer, and Arne Jacobsen, participants have the opportunity to contribute to the rich tradition of designing custom chairs that embody their distinct design philosophies and vision.

The Architect’s Chair competition is open to submissions until December 5, 2023, with winners of the 5,000 € prize to be announced on February 13, 2024. Visit for more details.

Competition is open to all. No professional qualification is required. Design proposals can be developed individually or by teams (4 team members maximum). Correspondence with organizers must be conducted in English; All information submitted by participants must be in English.

The Architect’s Chair Jury Panel!

Buildner is pleased to announce the jury panel for the Architect’s Chair competition!

Johan Ansander, industrial designer
Rasmus Bækkel Fex, furniture designer
Boris Berlin, Boris Berlin Design
Anne Brandhøj, Bly Studio, Anne Brandhø
Mårten Claesson, Claesson Koivisto Rune Architects
Sarah Hossli, product designer
Lorenz Noelle, product designer
Li Xiang, X+Living
Takeshi Yamamura, YSLA YamamuraSanzLaviña Architects